VW Tiguan Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last year, I bought an 2021 VW Tiguan. What a mistake! I was a longtime owner of a 2002 VW Passat. My greatest disappointment with my Tiguan was the useless buttons on the overhead console, with the information, wrench(roadside assistance) and SOS buttons. Why would I want to pay XXX dollars a month subscribing to something I would never use. For one, if an emergency, I would use my cell phone as I could more likely get immediate local medical assistance. For roadside assistance, I would also use my cell phone, for the few times I would possibly need it if the Tiguan was as reliable a car as the salesman told me (I never had a breakdown or flat tire for the 20 years with the Passat) and since I have been driving for over 50 years without an accident it might be another 50 years before I needed the SOS button. So Why does VW take something that was included in my 2002 Passat that I used everyday, (sometimes several times a day), to open my Garage Door (home link), for something that is entirely useless, that they hoped stupid people would sign up for and pay monthly payments of X dollars for the privilege of nothing. If I could figure out a way to replace those three useless buttons for Home Link Buttons that would open up my garage door, I would. If any one has an idea how I can replace those buttons, I would appreciate any advice you could give me. Does VW think their customers are that stupid?

SaveShare
Reply Quote

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Administrator
Volvo XC40, formerly 2015 match 177ps 4mo DSG
2,423 Posts
To start with have you been charged a subscription for this? NO! This is an emergency feature that calls emergency services if you have a crash and reports the location. It's tied in to a built in SIM in the vehicle that's able to make the call without needing your mobile phone.